Go to fullsize image   Today was the first day of Kindergarten for Zack.  It was a great day!  We made it to school on time. He was excited and couldn’t wait to start in a new class.  I didn’t shed any sappy tears.  I just took a million pictures all day starting with his first breakfast before going to kindergarten.  We were good to go.

And go we did.  Please, tell me that somebody else’s child wet their pants on the first day of school this year.  I got the call right after I put my other two down for a nap.  I couldn’t believe it.  This never happens anymore. 

I got to school with fresh shorts and this was Zack’s very calm explanation, “Well, Ms. D. said we could only read one book.  I really wanted to keep the book that I got, so I didn’t want to get up off the carpet square right away.  Then all of a sudden, I had to go really really bad.  I had an accident, the blue carpet square had pee pee on it,  but I got to do puzzles in the office.”

Well, at least he wasn’t phased by the whole thing and can’t wait to go to school again.  The staff and teacher were awesome and layed back about it, so it wasn’t deemed “as a big embarassing event”.  I just hope that we don’t end up with a nickname such as “Zack who can’t keep his peepee back” or “Pee Pee Pants Mcgee”.  You know there’s always that one kid who just kept wetting their pants and smelled like pee half of the day.  I feel so bad for that child now.  

My apology:  “Marcia W., if you are out there somewhere, I am sorry that I never wanted to sit at your table and would openly tease you about being odiforous.  I now know you couldn’t help it.  I also want to apologize to Lance B.  I know you couldn’t help puking at school all the time.  I did share a table with you and you puked on my pencil/crayon box.  I can finally forgive you for ruining my crayolas.” There I feel cleansed of my elementary school meanness. (of course, if you know me at all, you know I was a little stinker in elementary school.  This really shouldn’t be the last of my apologies.)  

Let’s hope Zack’s is just a one time deal due to the excitement and newness of it all.  Anson starts school tomorrow and I anticipate getting a few “behavior calls” on that end, just as I did last year.  I don’t think I can handle running back and forth between the 2 schools for “issues”.

