I don’t have a ton of time to write today because I work on Thursdays.  However, I love true random science facts.  I used to make a list of true facts about physiology or biology when I taught.  I would give it to my students on the first day.  They had to decide if the statements were true or false (all true of course).  They could talk amongst a small group (to get to know each other) to help decide.  The facts were things like “the average adult humans skin is the same size as a queen size bed comforter.”  It really peaked their interest and led to some great discussions about what they would be learning about that year.  In the mean time, while I have been on my “mommy break”.  I still love crazy facts that grab people’s attention about science.

Here’s a few I have found that may be of relevance to this blog (or not.  A couple I just think are really strange.):

The dot above the “i” is called a “tittle”. (Hee, Hee! I love that word)

98 tons of buried historic plant material are used to make 1 gallon of gasoline.

About 100 people choke on ballpoint pens every year.  (Take that pen/pen cap out of your mouth right now!)

Animals can naturally explode.

The Earth is not really round.  It’s an ellipse.

Each square inch of human skin contains 19 million cells, 60 hairs, 90 oil glands, 19 feet of blood vessels, 625 sweat glands, and millions of bacteria.

Tomatos are the most popular food worldwide.

The strongest muscle in your body is your tongue.

A taste bud is replaced every 10 days (I attribute that to my bi-weekly change of taste about anything).

And sorry Big Binder…Right handed people live longer than left handed people.

 

there’s many more facts but I have to go feed the masses over here now!

