Go to fullsize imageIt’s Earth Month!  On April 22, 2008, we will all experience the joyous occasion of Earth Day.  One of my favorite days!  I love to see people getting excited and becoming more aware of exactly how wonderful nature is. 

So where have I been this past week??  No blogging?  I was on a roll with posting everyday and then spring hit.  Well, just for a few days over here in Michigan.  Now it’s once again cold and gray.  But for a few days it was beautiful.  We were outside ALL day long for 2-3 days straight.  Which was great for airing out the house after an intestinal bug had it’s way with us for a couple days as well.  Yucko! 

Spring always inspires big plans for expanding my garden and showing my kids how nature is amazing in it’s wild, beautiful ways.  Here are my latest plans for this summer…start a state of the art composting area.  Okay, “state of the art” is just my interpretation of what it will be.  I live on a city lot, so I don’t have a ton of space and I have never done this before besides letting some grass clippings rot on the side of the yard because I didn’t want to keep paying for yard waste bags.  This will be my way to green my life even more.  Hopefully with minimal investment and maximum outcome.  I can’t wait to see how this composting bit can support my love of gardening.

My other project is going to be a butterfly garden for the kids.  Zack has already been asking to go to the flower store and pick out some annuals.  Not bad for a 4 1/2 yr old, huh??  I love it!  So, he will definitely be involved in all areas of planning our butterfly garden.  We have gone twice to Meijer Gardens here in town to look at all the beautiful butterflys.  The kids love it and it gives us a chance to talk about what butterflies need to survive, how they grow, and also what they like in their surroundings.  Already a great start for this little project.

My third project that I am slowly but surely working on is a big old garage sale that I will be having in a month.  This is an opportunity to get rid of some items that are useless to me and the fam.  We have so much crap in our house and I am sure that someone else needs it in theirs 🙂  It’s also a good way to celebrate earth month because it totally supports reducing, reusing, and recycling.  Plus, it will support the other green movement at our house…our new budget (thanks to Dave Ramsey).

Keep springing up those new ideas!

