Oma brought the kids the Disney movie “The Jungle Book” last week when we were struggling to wade our way back into the land of the healthy over here.  I love this movie.  It is my all time Disney favorites.  It was the first movie that I ever saw in a movie theater (that I can remember at least).  I was so excited to watch Jungle Book again.  We all cuddled on the couch for the boys first viewing and they loved it!!  One week later, I think that they may love it just a little too much. 

It is now like the song on the radio that you like at first and then it plays over and over again until you get so sick of hearing it, it becomes a song you hate.  The constant “Can we watch the “Jungle Book” now?” question has got to stop!!  I love that they really enjoy this movie, but the boys want to watch it everyday.  I am sure that they would watch it more than once a day if they could. 

The only redeeming quality of my one time favorite movie is that Zack and Anson will stand up to dance and sing along with all the songs.  It is the cutest darn thing you have ever seen (Except, of course if it was your own children.  Than that would be the cutest darn thing to you, of course. ;))  The best performance is their dancing to the song “The Bare Necessities”.  They will bop up and down to the beat trying to imitate Baloo the bear oblivious to the fact that dance ability does not run in our family.

Today, Zack was bopping around the house singing the song “The Bare Necessities”.  Here was his version:

“It’s just the bear in sesames.  The simple bear in sesames.  Forget about your worries and your stripes.”  Repeat.  Repeat.  Repeat.  Repeat…etc.

I tried to correct him, “Zack, it’s forget about your worries and your strife.”  You would have thought I would have said that the world was really flat after all these years from the way he looked at me. 

Zack looks at me shocked and frustrated after I repeat it one more time.  “No mom!  Don’t say that!  It’s your stripes.  The animals need to forget about their stripes. Animals have stripes.”  I remember that his little 4 year old brain only knows so much vocabulary at this point and decided not to push it further.  I won’t even begin to try and remove sesame from the lyrics.  Maybe Baloo really has sesame somewhere and it’s there because he forgot about his stripes.  Maybe if I watched the movie 500 more times, I too would come to this truth.  However, if I were to sit and watch this movie one more time in the next couple days, I would poke my eyes out.  Maybe next week I will begin my study on sesame, stripes, and jungle singing bears. 

In the meantime, if you walk by our house when the windows are open, you will probably hear us singing “It’s just the bear in sesames.  The simple bear in sesames.  Forget about your worries and your stripes.”  It’s catchy and has a beat we can dance too.  I know you are singing it in your head right now…  Yeah, that song will be stuck there for the next 24 hours.  Trust me on that one.

