Go to fullsize image  My title sounds so selfish, but well, this week has been crazy.  The boys have been in rare form and Gret has been grumpy.  I would like to say it’s because she has been teething but I don’t know for sure.  How long can you use this excuse about teething for your child’s bad behavior?  I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go out tonight (I was tired and a little grumpy myseld) but the Mom’s group that I am in (MOMS Club International) has a Mom’s Night Out every month.  I decided that I needed some time out by myself after another wild day of helping my 3 crazy nuts at home.  I have to say, I am SO glad that I went.  It was a great break from the daily monotony and I got to bond with women in the same stage of life.  We laughed, HARD, had fabulous food and wine all while not having to be distracted by our kids. 

My little Gret is STILL refusing to take a bottle no matter what we try, so she cried half of the time I was gone.  But dear, dear old dad never called me home or complained.  He knows that short times away gives me renewed strength and mental sanity.  I highly recommend that any mom, new or old, have friends (several of them if possible) to meet up with, away from the kids, every few weeks to chat, share and empathize.  I think it helps you as a person, as a mom, and as a wife.  Take some time for yourself.  It will be the best thing you ever did for you and your family.

