stressed-baby.jpgTalk about the challenges of motherhood.  Today was the day.  I think my 3 kids saved up all their complaining, all their crying, all their meltdowns, and temper tantrums from the past 2 weeks just to unleash them today.  Have you ever had one of these days?

For the boys, every toy became a tool used in combat against each other.  The screaming that they both voiced after being injured by the other was equivalent to something you might hear in a cheaply made horror movie.  It was grating my nerves all day.  Time outs, 1, 2, 3 magic, all the other usual disciplinary fare just wasn’t doing the job.  But I managed to maintain that calm motherly tone most of the time (well, until about 4pm, then I think I might have sounded like a banshee).   

To add to their distress, Zack was once again having poop issues.  This involves several accidents throughout the course of the day until the deed is totally done and lots of tears and whining.  So to add to the day, I had 3 kids in diapers at one point and all of them smelled like something funky.  Gret was particularly giving and shared 3 blowouts this afternoon, which conveniently soiled all her exersaucer and playmat fabrics leaving nothing but us to entertain her.  So, in one day I went through a box of wipes and filled the diaper can.  So much for being green today in that area.

Then bedtime.  Finally!  I couldn’t wait.  Tomas had tennis tonight, so it was just me, myself, and I putting the kids to bed.  Normally, this isn’t a big deal but the chaos continued.  On any other given night, it takes 20 minutes to put all 3 to sleep.  Tonight, it took me 2 1/2 hours to deal with 2 more poopy diapers, 3 crying/screaming kids, 1 begging cat (she hadn’t been fed yet today), 2 crazy dogs (there was a rabbit in our yard which brings on seemingly endless barking), and endless excuses/procrastination from Anson and Zack.  Which, by the way, I am pretty proud of Zack’s creativity.  Tonight, he said he needed to stay up and clean his messes from the day.  So he tried to show me that his toys needed to be rearranged and his dirty laundry washed.  Nice try, Buddy!

Anyway, they are all snuggled in bed right now.  Tomas is home.  And I still have some hair left on my head.  It’s all snarled and messed but it’s still there and I am still here.  We’re all alive.  We still love each other.  So, I am going to count this day successful and go to bed.

