Go to fullsize image

I’m Back!

Yes, we were gone for a few days up north, to Crystal Mountian Resort, MI.  It was a great trip.  It was our first vacation with all 3 kids but they loved it and it was a great change of pace.  Normally we go camping in a tent around the 4th of July, but we chose to avoid the tent life this year.  It was a little too scary for us to think of camping with a 3 1/2 year old, a 2 year old and a 4 month old.  Only two of us and three of them in the great wilderness.  They probably would have chewed us up and spit us out by the end of that one.  The resort life was much more comfortable for us and the kids at this point.

One thing that struck me as I was packing for the trip and unpacking, is how many things we packed that we thought we would “need”.  Most of them came back unused.  The only things that we really used on a regular basis were the diapers, wipes, underwear, food, and drinks.  Oh yes, my coffee.  I NEED my coffee 🙂  I think it is that way in our daily life too.  We tend to buy things or store things we think we might need or have to have.  But when it comes down to it, there’s not much you really “NEED” to live comfortably.  I appreciate all the extras that we have and hope to pass this little lesson on to my children.  We are blessed and given so much in this world but yet there is very little that we really need.  Everything else is extra and should be used with appreciation and a heart filled with thankfulness.

