Go to fullsize imageWhew, what a week!  It certainly flew by for me and the fam.  I kept the boys busy all week with a morning camp filled with crafts and fun activities.  I toted lil’ Gret around the whole week in my sling, running errands and chasing her sibs. (I sometimes wonder how the third child ever gets on a schedule when you are chasing the other nuts.)  We all tried to catch up and rest in the afternoons but it often didn’t happen.  Nighttimes were interrupted with nursing Gret and bad dreams from Anson or potty times from Zack. 

As you can imagine we all hit the wall today.  Exhausted by the week, we decided to forego the scheduled park playdate and stay home to regroup.  My kids gave me the signal when they were just laying in front of the TV this morning watching their fav morning show “Little Einsteins”.  There was none of the usual morning energy, none of the usual “What are we doing today Mom?”, just a zoned out tired look from the two boys.  Their motivation and patience was next to nothing and so was mine.  So, we stayed home and took some time to relax.

By the end of the week, my household is usually one tired mess.  I can’t wait for Saturday when the Hubby is home and we can all take a little break from the weekday grind.  Most times I am just glad that all my kids are stilled clothed and fed by the end of the week.  My favorite thing about weekends is that I get to sleep in on Saturday!!  My dear Husband usually helps me start the weekend with a little extra sleep.  It’s my stress release Saturday. 

I don’t know how I could survive life with three kids without this little bit of heaven every weekend.  Even if I only sleep in a 1/2hr to an hour longer, it’s a necessary break from the humdrum mornings when it’s just me and the kids.  I don’t know how your kids are, but my mornings start with a flurry of activity.  Cups of milk, diapers, Pull-Ups, Cereal, Toast, clothes, and Blankies are flying everywhere while I try to nurse lil’ Gret.  I get really annoyed by this routine in the morning.  I am definitely not a morning person.  So when I get a little extra time to collect myself before getting out of bed on Saturday, you better believe I enjoy every minute. 

I highly recommend setting up a regular day to get a little extra well deserved sleep or just some time alone.  Of course, you will need to make a deal with your spouse.  It’s never a one-way street.  They work hard as well.  My hubby takes “Sleep-In Sunday” as a trade off.  That way he can be well rested and revived for the office on Monday.   I can’t wait for tomorrow morning!!

