Today is Stress Release Saturday!!  I got to sleep in until 9am today.  I am rejuvenated and spunky once again.  Unfortunately for my husband, the kids woke up at 6:30am.  They are all pretty sleepy yet today.  Zack is even taking a nap today and he NEVER asks to do that.  So with the 2 boys sleeping and my stud of a husband playing in a tennis tournament, I decided to try and get some things done.  I chose to work outside on this beautiful day.  I love to garden/work on the yard, so I could accomplish 2 things at once:  keeping the yard nice and keeping me relaxed on this GLORIOUS BLESSED day!  Can you tell I have more energy today by all the Caps and exclamation points?  I can’t figure out any other way to show you how great I feel.

I put little Gret in the Ergo carrier and set out into the yard.  We watered flowers and picked up dog poop.  We have 2 70-75 pound dogs in our busy little household so this is always a must do when you go out in the backyard.  I told you we have lots of poop issues in our home!  I then decided the lawn definitely needed to be mowed.  But I hate to use the gas powered lawn mower.  It scares me and the noise of it takes away all relaxation.  So, I pulled out my old friend, the reel mower.

We originally bought this mowing machine when we lived in Kalamazoo, MI.  Our yard was fairly small and we didn’t want to have to worry about getting gas, or the tune ups that go along with a gas powered mower.  Plus, since there is no gas, there is no contribution to the destruction of the ozone or local watershed.  Al Gore would be so proud!  So we got a little bit crunchier and got this mower.  All you have to do for maintenance is adjust the cutting level and sometimes sharpen the blades.  They are lightweight and easy to push.  Yes, our more “modern” neighbors would point and laugh.  Joking with us “Did you know they’ve improved those things?”  Our neighbors here do the same thing.  But I don’t care!  Whose going to be laughing all the way to the bank because they haven’t had to pay $3.20 a gallon for gas?  Me!

Anyway, I walked around the yard pushing the mower, enjoying the quiet whir of the blades as Gret snuggled peacefully in the carrier.   Could I look any crunchier than that!  I love it!  The yard is now neatly kept and green, the kids are still asleep (thanks to a quiet mower!) and I feel good about my little effort to help aid Mother Earth.  What a great Stress Release Saturday!  I am going to sit outside, read a book and appreciate the day!

Some Reel Mower Dealers/Info:www.cleanairgardening.com/reelmowers.html

http://www.reelmowerguide.com/http://www.reelmowersetc.com/http://www.reelpushmowers.com/

You nearest home impovement store should also have reel mowers stocked.

