One of my regular posts on Tuesdays will be about Green Cleaning.  Like most mothers, I don’t have a ton of time to clean my house.  Usually, it is a chaotic mess of toys and burp cloths.  When I do get a chance to clean up the place, I want to make sure that my kids are safe from harmful chemicals and fumes.  I also try to do whatever I can to not harm the environment.  The environment has enough to worry about without me stressin’ it out.  I am attempting to switch over to Green Cleaning practices to help the cause.

Green Cleaning is cleaning with items or products that bring little to minimal harm to the earth and therefore to people.  I have found many resources about different items which qualify as “green cleaning”.

The first thing that I ever tried was good old vinegar and water. This was the CHEAPEST cleaner ever (consider how much a larger size bottle of white vinegar costs.  Around $1!!).  I used it on my mirrors/windows, my linoleum floors, and I used it to clean off all the baked on scum on my stove top burners and pans.  I had my doubts, but after a few stinky minutes, I realized that it was amazing!  Not only did it easily removed the baked on mess that I had failed to remove with chemical cleaners, it left my white floors clean and sparkly.  The windows and mirrors were a little bit harder to clean because I had to keep rubbing it to remove streaks.  I guess that’s why Windex is so popular.  But with a little elbow grease, the vinegar/water mix worked great.  The smell really wasn’t that bad, but if you are used to “lemon fresh” it might be a difficult adjustment.

 Here’s a couple great recipes:

  • Window and mirror cleaner: White vinegar, waterPut 1/4 cup of white vinegar in the spray bottle and fill to the top with water. Spray on the surface. Rub with a lint-free rag. For outdoor windows, use a sponge and wash with warm water with a few drops of liquid Murphy’s or castile soap in it. Rinse well and squeegee dry.
  • Linoleum floor cleaner: White vinegar, waterMop with a mixture of 1/2 cup vinegar in a bucket (pail) of warm water. The vinegar odor will go away shortly after the floor dries.
  •  Go to this great website for more tips/recipes for vinegar.

